Connecticut Liquor Liability Lawyers
Connecticut law regarding liquor liability changed repeatedly in 2003. If you believe that you may have a claim against a bar or someone else who provided liquor to a drunk driver or other intoxicated person, you should promptly consult an attorney because Connecticut law provides short deadlines for notice and suit regarding some claims against liquor sellers, and also because the particular remedies available may vary, depending upon the date of your injury.
Connecticut long had a statutory dram shop act allowing a recovery of up to $20,000 per injured person to those who sold alcoholic liquor to an intoxicated person who thereafter caused injury as a result of that intoxication. This outdated $20,000 limit was extremely low, in light of the great harm that can be caused by drunk drivers. Effective June 3, 2003, the legislature increased the limits of liability for Connecticut's statutory Dram Shop Action from $20,000 per person to $250,000.00 per person. (There is also a separate "aggregate" limit under the Dram Shop Act, which may reduce the recovery available to any one person when multiple people have been injured by the same intoxicated person). This 2003 increase in the limits of liability for the Connecticut statutory Dram Shop Action should benefit victims of drunk drivers.
Unfortunately, at the same time, the legislature abolished the common law cause of action against a liquor seller for negligence in the sale of alcoholic liquor to a person 21 years of age or older, a cause of action which the Connecticut Supreme Court had recognized in a decision just months before. In that common law negligence cause of action, there were no caps or artificial limits upon the damages that could be recovered, although insurance coverage issues may have limited the amount collectible in some cases.
Because of these complexities, you should consult an attorney without delay if you feel that you have been injured by a drunk driver, or other intoxicated person, and you believe that a bar or person who provided the liquor may be to blame, in whole or part.
Call us at 800.344.5297 or contact us online to discuss your legal options.