Connecticut's
Personal Injury Law Firm

Call Today To Set Up Your
Free No-Obligation Consultation
860.522.1196 | 800.344.5297

Should Connecticut Ban Repeat Drunk Drivers From Driving For Life?

More than 300 people are killed and over 6,000 injured every year on New York’s highways from alcohol-related crashes.   Well, the State of New York has just put new regulations in place, the result of which will keep an estimated 20,000 drivers convicted of alcohol related driving offenses off the road permanently or for a more extended period of time.

Should Connecticut follow suit?

With the holidays approaching – it is important to know the rules around alcohol and driving here.

So what are the rules (beyond NEVER drink and drive)?

  • Drivers over the age of 21 are considered to be over the legal limit if their blood alcohol level is .08% or more. For drivers younger than 21, the legal limit is .02% or more.  Drivers operating a commercial vehicle are considered over the legal limit if their blood alcohol level is .04% or higher.
  • “Criminal penalties for DUI convictions include fines, prison terms, and license suspensions.  By law, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must impose 45-day license suspensions for drivers age 21 or older convicted of DUI. Once their licenses are reinstated, these offenders can only drive vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices (vehicles with alcohol testing devices installed that prevent a car from starting if the driver has been drinking) for specified periods of time.
  • First-time offenders can drive only interlock-equipped vehicles for one year after their license suspension ends; second-time offenders can drive only these vehicles for three years following a suspension. The law additionally requires second-time offenders, during the first year of the three-year interlock period, to drive these vehicles only to (1) work, (2) school, (3) a drug or alcohol treatment program, or (4) an interlock service center.
  • DMV must revoke the license of a driver convicted of DUI for a third time. The law currently states that the offender may seek restoration of his or her license after two years and for the commissioner to restore it on the condition that the driver operate only interlock-equipped vehicles for as long as he or she drives. (After 15 years of driving these vehicles, the offender may ask that this condition be lifted, and the commissioner may do so after a hearing and for good cause.)”

If you or a loved one are ever in a car accident with a drunk driver in Connecticut, it is important to gather all the information you can and then call a qualified Connecticut car accident lawyer.  A knowledgeable car accident lawyer can help to ensure that your rights are protected.

RisCassi & Davis has handled thousands of car accident cases in Connecticut over our more than 55 years serving the people of this state.  Our car accident lawyers have received significant local and national recognition for our handling of injury cases including:

  • Four RisCassi & Davis attorneys in the last five years have been honored by being named Best Lawyers – Hartford Personal Injury Litigation – Plaintiffs “Lawyer of the Year”
  • Top listing by Martindale-Hubbell as a “New England Top Rated AV Preeminent® Law Firm, and much more… (for more on our honors and awards, click here).

If you would like a free consultation with one of our car accident lawyers, please contact us today.  There is no obligation of any kind.

 

CALL NOW for a FREE consultation

OFFICE LOCATION

RisCassi & Davis, P.C.
131 Oak Street, P.O. Box 261557
Hartford, Connecticut 06126
Get Directions

Phone: 860.522.1196
Toll Free: 800.344.5297

Facebook Twitter

OFFICE DIRECTIONS