The Connecticut Legislature recently passed a new statewide pedestrian safety law that takes effect on October 1, 2021.
The new law expands the conditions drivers must yield to pedestrians at marked and unmarked crosswalks that traffic signals or police officers do not control.
Under the previous law governing pedestrian rights, a driver had to yield to a pedestrian by slowing or stopping if a pedestrian had stepped off a curb or into a crosswalk.
The new law states that “a driver must slow or stop as necessary if the pedestrian (1) is within any portion of the crosswalk; (2) steps to the curb at a crosswalk’s entrance and indicates intent to cross by raising a hand or arm to oncoming traffic; or (3) indicates intent to cross by moving any body part or extension of a body part into the crosswalk entrance, including a wheelchair, cane, walking stick, crutch, bicycle, electric bicycle, stroller, carriage, cart, or leashed or harnessed dog.”*
Failing to yield to a pedestrian when required under the new law can result in a $500 fine.
Also, new in October, the act of dooring will be illegal. According to the Connecticut Department of Transportation, “this new law prohibits a person from causing physical contact between a vehicle door and moving traffic by (1) opening the door, if the moving traffic is traveling at a reasonable speed with due regard for the safety of people and property, or (2) leaving it open longer than needed to load or unload passengers.”*
If you or a loved one are ever in a pedestrian accident in Connecticut, know that the Connecticut personal injury lawyers at RisCassi & Davis have been assisting people like you for over 60 years. And we have received both state and national recognition for our work in this area. If you are ever injured in an accident of any kind and would like a free consultation with one of our Connecticut injury lawyers, please contact us. There is no obligation.