Experienced, Nationally Recognized Connecticut Liquor Liability Lawyers
For over 60 years, the Connecticut personal injury lawyers at RisCassi & Davis have represented individuals who’ve suffered an injury as a result of an accident with an intoxicated driver in Connecticut. We are ready, right now, to help you receive fair compensation for any harm done.
What You’ll Get When You Work With RisCassi & Davis:
- A legal team that is nationally recognized for our work on drunk driving cases
- A lead attorney who will be your attorney – someone who’ll work closely with you at all times and fight hard to help you recover for your losses
- Tough, effective representation
- Unsurpassed attention to detail
- Guaranteed responsiveness
More You Should Know About Connecticut Liquor Liability Laws:
Connecticut law regarding liquor liability has changed repeatedly over the years.
- Connecticut long had a statutory dram shop act allowing a recovery of up to $20,000 per injured person to those who sold alcoholic liquor to an intoxicated person who thereafter caused injury as a result of that intoxication.This outdated $20,000 limit was extremely low, in light of the great harm that can be caused by drunk drivers. Effective June 3, 2003, the legislature increased the limits of liability for Connecticut’s statutory Dram Shop Action from $20,000 per person to $250,000.00 per person. (There is also a separate “aggregate” limit under the Dram Shop Act, which may reduce the recovery available to any one person when multiple people have been injured by the same intoxicated person).
- Unfortunately, at the same time, the legislature abolished the common law cause of action against a liquor seller for negligence in the sale of alcoholic liquor to a person 21 years of age or older, a cause of action which the Connecticut Supreme Court had recognized in a decision just months before. In that common law negligence cause of action, there were no caps or artificial limits upon the damages that could be recovered, although insurance coverage issues may have limited the amount collectible in some cases.
If you believe that you may have a claim against a bar or someone else who provided liquor to a drunk driver or other intoxicated person, you should promptly consult an attorney because Connecticut law provides short deadlines for notice and suit regarding some claims against liquor sellers, and also because the particular remedies available may vary, depending upon the date of your injury.
Please contact us today if we can help you with your case. You may call our office at 800.344.5297 or fill out our contact form.
Remember, there are never legal fees of any kind unless we are successful on your behalf.